Connect with us

Arsenal FC

Arsenal win four awards at the LFA 2023

The London Football Awards (LFA) were held on Monday at the Roundhouse in Camden Town, London, and Premier League leaders Arsenal swept four significant awards on the night, while Women’s Super League (WSL) leaders Chelsea dominated the women’s football category after bagging a couple of individual trophies.


The winners of all categories at the LFA are picked out after being judged by the football administration leaders and leading football media persons. 16 teams from London are involved in these awards, including Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur, West Ham United, and exclusive women’s teams like the London Bees and London City Lionesses.


In the four major award categories of the evening, Arsenal made a clean sweep. Starting at the back, Aaron Ramsdale was named the Goalkeeper of the Year for his heroics in the Premier League this season, ahead of Fulham’s Bernd Leno,  Chelsea’s Kepa Arrizabalaga, Leyton Orient’s Lawrence Vigouroux, and Brentford’s David Raya.


Winger Bukayo Saka received the Young Player of the Year award in the men’s category as the 21-year-old beat his teammates Gabriel Martinelli and William Saliba to the honor. Other runners-up included Crystal Palace’s Michael Olise and Millwall’s Billy Mitchell. Saka has scored ten goals and assisted nine in the Premier League for the Gunners this season so far.


Martin Odegaard was named the Premier League Player of the Year. Arsenal’s skipper pipped Tottenham’s Harry Kane, Brentford’s Ivan Toney, Fulham’s Aleksandar Mitrovic, and his own teammate Saka to nab the award. The Norwegian has been heavily involved in Arsenal’s success this season after scoring ten and assisting six in 26 Premier League games.


The fourth and final significant award was presented to Mikel Arteta after being named the Manager of the Year ahead of Leyton Orient’s Richie Wellens, Chelsea Women’s Emma Hayes, Brentford’s Thomas Frank, and Fulham’s Marco Silva. Arteta is on the verge of guiding his side to their first Premier League title after 2004.


Chelsea dominated the women’s category after winning the WSL Player of the Year and Women’s Young Player of the Year awards. Striker Sam Kerr beat Arsenal duo of Beth Mead and Kim Little to the WSL Player of the Year award, while 21-year-old striker Lauren James beat Tottenham’s Asmita Ale and West Ham’s Izzy Atkinson for the Women’s Young Player of the Year honor.


Tottenham Hotspur picked up a solitary award on the evening after Son Heung-min picked up the Goal of the 2022/23 Premier League Season award for his long-range effort against Leicester City in September. Son beat Crystal Palace’s Michael Olise, Watford’s Ismaila Sarr, Leyton Orient’s Paul Smyth, and Arsenal Women’s Laura Wienroither for this award.


Smyth missed out on the Goal of the Season award but did pick up the English Football League Player Of The Year award ahead of Watford’s Joao Pedro, Millwall’s Zian Flemming, Charlton Athletic’s Miles Leaburn, and teammate Omar Beckles. Former West Ham United midfielder Mark Noble was picked for the Outstanding Contribution to London Football award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Arsenal FC