Connect with us


Curry wins 2022 NBA MVP | List of all NBA MVP winners

Stephen Curry has finally won his first Finals MVP after the Golden State Warriors won their 7th NBA Championship and 4th Championship in eight years after beating the Boston Celtics 103-90 in Game 6 of the 2022 NBA Finals at the TD Garden. It’s been a long wait for the 34-year-old with many believing the lack of this award in his trophy cabinet was the only factor affecting his legacy as one of the greatest players in the game of basketball.

Curry’s been the face of one of the greatest dynasties in the sport’s history. He’s a four-time NBA Champion, two-time MVP, eight-time NBA All-Star and the greatest shooter in the history of the game. Earlier this season, Curry broke the all-time three-point record, breaking Ray Allen’s record. He’s also widely held responsible for changing the way the game is played, normalizing three-point shooting as the most effective way to score points.

The Warriors have been the great side of this era but they’ve had some bumps on the road. After making five straight NBA finals, the departure of Kevin Durant, a long-term injury to Klay Thompson and an injury to Curry himself, an ageing Warriors side was undergoing a bit of a transition. However, under Steve Kerr, the team managed to hold onto the core of Curry, Draymond Green and a returning Thompson, to win their 4th title in eight years.

Curry hit 34 points in Game 6 but his 43 points in game 4 of this series that will immortalize him in the history books. Like Curry, there have been other great performances in NBA finals. He averaged 31 points, 6 rebounds, 5 assists in 6 games in the 2022 NBA Finals.

Also read: NBA Prize Money 2022: How Much Do NBA Winners Get? Who is the highest paid player in 2022?

Who was the NBA finals MVP last year in 2020-21?

MVP 2020-21: Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)

Endearingly referred to as the ‘Greek Freak’, Antetokounmpo’s wait for an NBA championship came to an end last year. Much like Curry, the Bucks have built around Antetokounmpo’s unique strengths but there’s an even greater reliance on the 27-year-old power forward. After winning back-to-back regular season MVP awards (2019/20 – 2020/21), it was only a matter of time before Antetokounmpo got hold of the big fry. Giannis averaged 35.2 points, 13.2 rebounds and 5.0 assists in 6 games in the 2021 NBA Finals.

Who was the NBA finals MVP in 2019-20?

MVP 2019-20: LeBron James (Los Angeles Lakers)

The face of the game for the last two decades, LeBron James is one of the game’s greatest ever players. Already a 4-time regular season MVP. he added a 4th NBA Championship and 4th NBA Finals MVP in 2019/20 at the age of 35. Having already won the biggest prizes with the Miami Heat and Cleveland Cavaliers, this was the most mature version of James, who led the Lakers to their 17th NBA Championship. James averaged 29.8 points, 11.8 rebounds and 8.5 assists in 6 games in the 2020 NBA Finals.

Who was the NBA finals MVP in 2018-19?

MVP 2018-2019: Kawhi Leonard (Toronto Raptors)

Referred to as the ‘Claw’, Kawhi Leonard won his second NBA MVP finals in his only season with the Toronto Raptors. The move to Toronto surprised everyone after a breakdown in his relationship with Gregg Popovich at the San Antonio Spurs. Leonard will most fondly be remembered for his buzzer beater against the Philadelphia 76ers in game 7 of the Eastern Conference semifinals. He used his two-way game to dominate throughout the playoffs and is a hero in Toronto to this day, helping them win their first NBA Championship against a weakned Warriors side. Leonard averaged 28.5 points, 9.8 rebounds and 4.2 assists in 6 games in the 2019 NBA Finals.

Who was the NBA finals MVP in 2017-18?

MVP 2017-2018: Kevin Durant (Golden State Warriors)

Kevin Durant won his second NBA MVP finals with the warriors in 2017/18, crystallizing their dynasty. The 12-time NBA all-star is one of the best active players. Like the Warriors, he showcased his dominance throughout the playoffs and the finals.  Durant put in a complete performance, averaging 28.8 points, 10.8 rebounds and 7.5 assists in a 4-0 sweep of the Cavaliers.

Who was the NBA finals MVP in 2016-17?

MVP 2016-2017: Kevin Durant (Golden State Warriors)

The first of this two NBA Finals MVP awards, Durant made a a highly controversial switch from the Oklahoma City Thunder to the Golden State Warriors in a bid to win more silverware. Despite the criticism from media and fans for taking what was considered an easy route to success, Durant was vindicated after winning his first NBA Championship and NBA Finals MVP award. Despite playing in a pretty strong Brooklyn Nets side since his move away from the Warriors, Durant hasn’t achieved the same success and this move seems to have paid off in hindsight. Durant averaged an incredible 35.2 points, 8.2 rebounds and 5.4 assists in 5 games in the 2017 NBA Finals.

Also read: Highest paid NBA players in 2022

Here’s an updated list of all the Finals MVP winners:

Year Winner Team
1969 Jerry West Los Angeles Lakers
1970 Willis Reed New York Knicks
1971 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Milwaukee Bucks
1972 Wilt Chamberlain Los Angeles Lakers
1973 Willis Reed New York Knicks
1974 John Havlicek Boston Celtics
1975 Rick Barry Golden State Warriors
1976 Jo Jo White Boston Celtics
1977 Bill Walton Portland Trail Blazers
1978 Wes Unseld Washington Bullets
1979 Dennis Johnson Seattle SuperSonics
1980 Magic Johnson Los Angeles Lakers
1981 Cedric Maxwell Boston Celtics
1982 Magic Johnson Los Angeles Lakers
1983 Moses Malone Philadelphia 76ers
1984 Larry Bird Boston Celtics
1985 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Los Angeles Lakers
1986 Larry Bird Boston Celtics
1987 Magic Johnson Los Angeles Lakers
1988 James Worthy Los Angeles Lakers
1989 Joe Dumars Detroit Pistons
1990 Isiah Thomas Detroit Pistons
1991 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1992 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1993 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1994 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1995 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston Rockets
1996 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1997 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1998 Michael Jordan Chicago Bulls
1999 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
2000 Shaquille O’Neal Los Angeles Lakers
2001 Shaquille O’Neal Los Angeles Lakers
2002 Shaquille O’Neal Los Angeles Lakers
2003 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
2004 Chauncey Billups Detroit Pistons
2005 Tim Duncan San Antonio Spurs
2006 Dwayne Wade Miami Heat
2007 Tony Parker San Antonio Spurs
2008 Paul Pierce Boston Celtics
2009 Kobe Bryant Los Angeles Lakers
2010 Kobe Bryant Los Angeles Lakers
2011 Dirk Nowitzki Dallas Mavericks
2012 LeBron James Miami Heat
2013 LeBron James Miami Heat
2014 Kawhi Leonard San Antonio Spurs
2015 Andre Iguodala Golden State Warriors
2016 LeBron James Cleveland Cavaliers
2017 Kevin Durant Golden State Warriors
2018 Kevin Durant Golden State Warriors
2019 Kawhi Leonard Toronto Raptors
2020 LeBron James Los Angeles Lakers
2021 Giannis Antetokounmpo Milwaukee Bucks
2022 Stephen Curry Golden State Warriors

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Basketball