Connect with us


Durand Cup Winner and Runner-Ups List And Which Is The Most Popular Team

Durand Cup Winner and Runner-Ups List

The Durand Football Tournament is an annual domestic football started in 1988 in Shimla. It is the oldest existing football tournament in Asia and the third oldest existing professional Football Tournament in the world. Check Durand Cup Winner and Runner-Ups List And Which Is The Most Popular Team.

The tournament is named after Sir Mortimer Durand who was foreign secretary of British India from 1884 to 1894. The army maintains its presence in the cup since its independence by the participation of several teams of the Indian Armed Forces. Royal Scots Fusiliers were the winners of the first edition of the tournament. Gokulam Kerala is the current holder of the cup. Three cups are presented to the winner of the tournament The Durand Cup, Presidents Trophy, and Shimla Trophy.

The 2021 Durand Cup is the 130th Edition of the tournament. The cup is hosted by West Bengal instead of Delhi and the tournament is jointly organized by the Eastern Command of the Indian Armed Forces and the Government of West Bengal. The Tournament started on September 5 and will continue till October 3. The cup was canceled in 2020 due to the pandemic and Gokulam Kerala is the defending champion in 2019 defeating Mohun Bagan. Addatimes is the official broadcasting partner of the League. You can live stream the matches on their site.

Durand Cup Winner and Runner-Ups List

Durand Cup Winners & Runner-Ups

2000Mohun BaganMahindra United
2001-02Mahindra UnitedChurchill Brothers
2002-03East BengalArmy XI
2003SaglaocarEast Bengal
2004East BengalMohun Bagan
2005Army XISporting Goa
2007Churchill BrothersMahindra United
2008Mahindra UnitedChurchill Brothers
2009Churchill BrothersMohun Bagan
2010Prayag UnitedJCT
2011Churchill BrothersPrayag United
2012Air IndiaDodsal
2016Army GreenNEROCA
2019Gokulam KeralaMohun Bagan
2020Cancel due to Covid

Teams in Durand Cup

16 teams from across India participate in this tournament. 5 clubs from Indian Super League, 3 clubs from I-League, 2 clubs from I-League 2nd Division, and 6 teams representing the Indian Armed Forces play this tournament. Check out the complete number of teams that participate in the tournament.

TeamCaptainHead Coach
BengaluruAjIth KumarNaushad Moosa
GoaBrandon FernandesJuan Fernando
HyderabadPritam Kumar SinghShameel Chembakath
JamshedpurJitendra SinghNoel Wilson
Kerala BlastersJessel Cameiro Ivan Vukomanovic
Gokulam KeralaSharif Mukkhamad Vincenzo Alberto Annese
MohammedanNikola StojanovicAndrey Chernyshov
Sudeva DelhiSaiurat Kima Chencho Dorji
Bengaluru UnitedDharmaraj Ravanan Richard Hood
DelhiAnwar AliYan Law
Assam RiflesJefferson NongrudNingombam Jiten Singh
Army GreenRoel LepchaMileswamy Govindaraju Ramachandran
Army RedNongmaikapam Suresh MeiteiAnustup Sarkar
Indian Air ForceVivek KumarPriya Darshan
Indian NavyBhaskar RoyAbhilash Nair
Central Reserve Police ForceMoses AntonyDayal Singh Bhati

Durand Cup Most Successful Teams

We all know about Bengals’ love for sports. May it be cricket or Football, Teams and players from Bengal always manage to leave their mark. In Durand Cup to its teams from Bengal that have Dominated the league. With 16 Titles each Mohun Bagan and East Bengal have dominated the Competition. Both the teams are not Participating in the League this year. Most of the players of Mohun Bagan were on an international break and East Bengal had some investors issues. It’s the first time that Two of the Bengal’s biggest clubs haven’t participated in the league since Independence.

Mohun Bagan

Mohun Bagan Athletic Club is an Indian Professional Sports Club based in Bengal. The club was founded in 1889 and is one of the oldest clubs in India and Asia. Mohun Bagan is the first all-Indian side to win a championship over a British side. Though the club is a multi-sports club the main focus of the club is Football. The club plays its home matches on Mohun Bagan Ground.

Mohun Bagan Achievement

National Football League- Three Times

I League- 2 times

Federation Cup- 14 Times

Durand Cup- 16 Times

IFA shield- 22 Times

Calcutta Football league- 30 times.

Sporting Club East Bengal

East Bengal is a professional football club based in Bengal. The club was founded on 1 August 1920. The club plays its home matches in Salt Lake stadium. East Bengal won their first league title in 1942 and have since gone on to win the title a record 39 times.

Sporting Club East Bengal Achievements

Federation Cup- 8 Times

Super Cups- 3 Times

IFA shield- 29 Times

Durand Cup-16 Times

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football