Connect with us


EFL Cup Championship Winners Name List, Check Also Most Popular Team Updated 2021

EFL Cup Championship Winners

EFL is an English Football League, commonly known as League Cup, It is an English men’s professional football tournament that takes place each year since 1960. So take a quick look at EFL Cup Championship Winners Name List, Check Also the Most Popular Team.

Currently, it is referred to as Sky Bet EFL for sponsorship reasons. EFL is the top three-tier elite football tournament that is organized in England.

The League is open to all 92 teams of the Premier League and EFL divided into seven groups. Matches played in all rounds are single-legged except for semi-finals, which are double-legged.

EFL Cup Championship Winners

EFL Cup Championship Winners Name List

The first season winners for the EFL championship in 2004 were Sunderland. The defending champions for 2020-21 season is Norwich City. They have won the title for the second time since the establishment of EFL. Winning team is rewarded with EFL trophy which is a three handled Georgian style Cup. Check out the winners list,

2007-08West Bromwich Albion
2008-09Wolverhampton Wanderers
2009-10Newcastle United
2010-11Queens Park Rangers
2012-13Cardiff City
2013-14Leicester City
2016-17Newcastle United
2017-18Wolverhampton Wanderers
2018-19Norwich City
2019-20Leeds United
2020-21Norwich City

EFL Cup Championship Runners Up

The runners up for the first edition of EFL 2004 was Wigan Athletic. The runners Up for last season 2020-21 were Watford. They had faced Norwich City in their finals, with the score 2-0. The playoff runner up for the 2020-21 season are Swansea City. Take a look at the runners-up for the period 2004 – 2020.

2004-05Wigan Athletic
2005-06Sheffield United
2006-07Birmingham City
2007-08Stoke City
2008-09Birmingham City
2009-10West Bromwich Albion
2010-11Norwich City
2012-13Hull City
2016-17Brighton & Hove Albion
2017-18Cardiff City
2018-19Sheffield United
2019-20West Bromwich Albion

EFL Cup Championship Most popular teams

The successful team in EFL is Newcastle United based in Newcastle, Tyne. It was founded in the year 1892. It plays in Premier League, owned by Mike Ashley since 2008. The Club is the 17th highest revenue-producing club all over the world in terms of annual revenue.

On the other hand, Norwich City is the second most successful team in the history of EFL. It was established in 1902. The owner of the club is Delia Smith and Michael Wynn-Jones and the head coach is Daniel Farke. The third successful team is Reading Football club. Established 150 yeas ago in the year 1871.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Football