Connect with us


‘Just rolled over the whole SA batting line up with ease’-Twitter reacts as India need 107 to win the first T20i against South Africa

'Just rolled over the whole SA batting line up with ease'-Twitter reacts as India need 107 to win the first T20i against South Africa

India are locking horns with Proteas in the T20I opener. The game is taking place at Greenfield International Stadium, Thiruvananthapuram. The Men in Blue gained a great deal of confidence from the series win over Australia recently.

Despite losing the T20I opener against Aaron Finch and Co, Rohit Sharma and Co bounced back in the second and third T20I respectively. India won consecutive games and won the series by 2-1.

Meanwhile, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and chose to bowl first. Talking about the game, Jasprit Bumrah is not included in the playing XI for the T20I opener in Kerala due to a niggle. Veteran spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and Deepak Chahar are back in the set-up.

South Africa post a mediocre total in their quota of 20 overs

When South African batters stepped out to bat at the crease, they were literally taken aback by India’s sharp and decisive bowling attack. The likes of Deepak Chahar and Arshdeep Singh alone cause enough carnage to South Africa.

In fact, the visitors didn’t recover after losing half of the wickets in the passage of play. In the end, Proteas ended up posting just 106/8 in their allotted quota of 20 overs.

Keshav Maharaj was the pick of the batters for Proteas as he scored 41 off 35 balls. He hit 5 fours and 2 sixes. Had it not been for his efforts, Proteas would have succumbed to a disastrous total. Arshdeep Singh bagged 3 wickets while Deepak Chahar took 2 wickets.


South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(w), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

Check out the best Twitter reactions below:



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket