Connect with us


“One can’t be this biased openly” – Fans react after Sunil Gavaskar said Rohit Sharma doesn’t get credit for captaincy

Mumbai Indians led by Rohit Sharma are the most successful franchise in the history of India’s premier T20 competition. Mumbai Indians didn’t win a title in the first five seasons of the Indian Premier League.

Their best performance was making it to the IPL final in the 2010 edition but lost to CSK. Rohit Sharma took charge as the captain of Mumbai Indians in the 2013 season. In his first season as captain, he guided Mumbai Indians to title glory by beating CSK in the final.

Mumbai Indians once again defeated Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2015 final to win their second title. MI beat Rising Pune Supergiant in IPL 2017 final to win their third title. MI beat CSK in the 2019 final to win their fourth title.

For the first time, MI defended the title by beating Delhi Capitals in the 2020 final and won their fifth IPL title, the most by any team in history. Mumbai Indians became one of the biggest powerhouses in IPL under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

Rohit Sharma doesn’t get credit for captaincy: Sunil Gavaskar

Meanwhile, senior commentator, Sunil Gavaskar, while speaking on Sports Today echoed that Rohit Sharma doesn’t really get the credit for captaincy. Explaining the reason, he further added that Madhwal dismissed Ayush Badoni by bowling over the wicket.

After that, he went on to dismiss Nicholas Pooran by bowling around the wicket. He also added that if it was a CSK match and MS Dhoni was the skipper, then everybody would have said MS Dhoni plotted Nicholas Pooran’s dismissal.

Rohit Sharma led the team pretty well in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League. Under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians qualified for the playoffs by finishing fourth on the table. They went on to defeat Lucknow Super Giants in Eliminator and will take on Gujarat Titans in the second qualifier tonight in Ahmedabad.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket