Connect with us

Cricket News

‘R Ashwin capable of breaking Anil Kumble’s record’ – Sunil Gavaskar

Legendary batter Sunil Gavaskar reckoned R Ashwin has the potential to become India’s all-time highest wicket-taker in Test cricket. The record is currently being held by Anil Kumble, who picked up 619 wickets from 132 matches in his 18-year long career. Ashwin is currently 177 wickets away from overtaking Kumble.

Kumble is also one of the three bowlers, along with Jim Laker and Ajaz Patel, to pick up 10 wickets in a Test innings. Gavaskar, who was the first batter to score 10,000 Test runs, said that Ashwin has upped his game as his career has progressed. Ashwin made his debut back in 2011 and has been a fulcrum of India’s bowling, especially at home.

R Ashwin doesn’t rest on his laurels: Sunil Gavaskar

“It’s still a fair distance to go, we are talking about another 160 wickets. But he is capable of doing that because he just keeps getting better. He doesn’t rest on his laurels,” Gavaskar was quoted as saying.

Gavaskar said that Ashwin is someone, who prefers to experiment with his bowling from time to time. The veteran said how the tweaker added leg-spin as a variation in his repertoire.

“At a time, a year and year-and-half-ago, Ashwin was trying leg-spin because you can as variety ball bowl that, especially if you have got 500 runs in the bank,” Gavaskar added.

Recently, Ashwin surpassed the legendary Kapil Dev to become India’s second-most successful bowler in Test cricket. He accomplished the feat during India’s two-match Test series against Sri Lanka, led by Dimuth Karunaratne.

Ashwin was also the leading wicket-taker of the series, having picked up 12 wickets from two games at an economy rate of 2.61. He also scored 87 runs from three innings at an average of 29 with a top score 61 in the opening Test at the PCA Stadium in Mohali. Ashwin also has five Test tons against West Indies and England.

Ashwin is now set to play for the Rajasthan Royals (RR), led by Sanju Samson, in the 2022 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Prior to that Ashwin played for the Delhi Capitals before moving to the Royals, who are yet to win the trophy since 2008.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket News