Connect with us


Rohit Sharma Replaces Virat Kohli As The ODI Captain

Rohit Sharma

After T20I cricket, Virat Kohli has stepped down from India’s ODI captaincy too. BCCI reported that Rohit Sharma will be taking over the reins of the Indian cricket team in the One-day format too.

BCCI declared on Wednesday that Rohit Sharma will be the new captain of the Indian cricket team in T20I and ODI cricket. In another important piece of news, Ajinkya Rahane was stripped off Test vice-captaincy.

This is what Virat Kohli had to say about captaincy and Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli Picture courtesy:

Rohit was also given the role of vice-captaincy in the longest format of the game and will be following the footsteps of Virat Kohli in the South Africa series. The announcement from BCCI stated, “The All-India Senior Selection Committee also decided to name Mr. Rohit Sharma as the Captain of the ODI and T20I teams going forward.”

Kohli was heard citing earlier, “I’ve been immensely proud of how the team has played. Now I think it’s time for the next lot to stake this team forward. Obviously, Rohit is here and he’s overlooking things for a while now.”

Alongside these important announcements, the BCCI has also announced the Indian squad for the Tests in the South Africa tour. Hanuma Vihari has been recalled to the side while Ishant Sharma was retained despite a loss of form in his recent affairs.

Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel and Rahul Chahar couldn’t be taken into consideration because of their injuries and the recuperation process that they will be undergoing to return to the international circuit.

India will be travelling to South Africa to play three Tests towards the end of the year. Despite initial doubts about the tour, things seem pretty fine as BCCI wants this series to go forward.

Indian squad: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma(vc), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Cricket