Connect with us


Sri Lanka 2021 Squad for T20 World Cup, Complete Players List, Owner, Captain, Stadium and Fixtures

Sri Lanka 2021 Squad for T20 World Cup

2021 T20 World Cup is all set to start from 17 October 2021 and will be continuing till 14 November 2021. Teams are busy in preparation and will try their best to win the cup. UAE will be Hosting the 2021 T20 World Cup. The Sri Lanka National Men’s Cricket Team represents Sri Lanka in International cricket. Check out Sri Lanka 2021 Squad for T20 World Cup.

The team will be participating in the upcoming T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka became the member of ICC in 1981. Currently team stands at 10th position in the ICC T20 Rankings. Team is Captained by Dasun Shanaka and Mickey Arthur is the current coach of the Team. Sri Lanka won the 1996 Cricket World Cup by defeating Australia. Sri Lanka won the 2014 ICC World Twenty20 by defeating India.

Sri Lanka 2021 Squad for T20 World Cup

The Squad is led by Madagamagamage Dasun Shanaka who was born on 9 September 1991 in Negombo, Sri Lanka. He is the captain of the Side in Limited overs format and plays in all the three formats for Sri Lanka. Under his Captaincy, Sri Lanka white washed Pakistan 3-0 in T20 Series.

Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Praveen Jayawickrama, Maheesh Theekshana, Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Ashen Bandara, Lakshan Sandakan, and Ramesh Mendis.

Reserves Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Pulina Tharanga.

Who is the Owner and Captain of Sri Lanka Team ?

Sri Lanka Cricket is the governing body for Cricket in Sri Lanka. It was founded on 30 June 1975, as Board of Cricket for Sri Lanka (BCCSL) and later it was renamed in 2003. SLC was affiliated with ICC on 21 July 1981. It has headquarters in Sinhalese Sports Club and Shammi Silva is the current president of the Body, Tom Moody Director and Mohan de Silva Secretary.

The Sri Lankan national cricket team achieved considerable success beginning in the 1990s, going from underdog status to winning the World Cricket Championship in 1996 under the leadership of Arjuna Ranatunga.

Stadium and Fixture of Bangladesh Cricket Team 2021

The tournament is set to begin from 17 October 2021. Sri Lanka will first have to play the group stages to compete in the Super 12. The Lankans are placed in Group A along with Ireland, Oman and Papua New Guinea. Below is the complete fixture of Sri Lankan team in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Monday18 OctoberNamibia vs Sri Lanka7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
Wednesday20 OctoberIreland vs Sri Lanka7:30 PMAbu Dhabi
Friday22 OctoberNetherlands vs Sri Lanka3:30 PMAbu Dhabi

Stadium Details :

Sri Lanka will be playing all their group stage matches in The Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi. The stadium was opened in May 2004 and was built at a cost of $23 million. It has a seating capacity of 20000 people. The stadium is operated by Emirates Cricket Board and will be one of the dedicated venues for the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Apart from this, there are more 2 Stadiums which are dedicated for the T20 World Cup. These stadiums are:

The Dubai International Stadium is a multi purpose stadium in Dubai. The stadium was established in 2009 and has a seating capacity of 25000 and is owned by Dubai Properties and operated by Dubai Sports City. The stadium will be one of the dedicated venues for the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, and is scheduled to host the Semi Final 2 and the Final of the latter on November 11, 2021 and November 14, 2021 respectively.

The Sharjah Cricket Stadium in Sharjah was established in 1982 and has a capacity of 27000 people. The stadium is owned by Sharjah Cricket Association. The stadium will be one of the dedicated venues for the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

What is the Schedule of ICC T20 World Cup 2021?

With the ICC T20 finally kicking off from 17th October 2021, here is an entire schedule that will give you details of all matches of the tournament. So take a quick glance and check out the table mentioned below :

Match NoDateFixtureTime (IST)VenueStage
117-OctOman vs Papua New Guinea15:30Al Almerat, MuscatRound 1
217-OctBangladesh vs Scotland19:30Al Almerat, MuscatRound 1
318-OctIreland vs the Netherlands15:30Abu DhabiRound 1
418-OctSri Lanka vs Namibia19:30Abu DhabiRound 1
519-OctScotland vs Papua New Guinea15:30Al Almerat, MuscatRound 1
619-OctOman vs Bangladesh19:30Al Almerat, MuscatRound 1
720-OctNamibia vs the Netherlands15:30Abu DhabiRound 1
820-OctSri Lanka vs Ireland19:30Abu DhabiRound 1
921-OctBangladesh vs Papua New Guinea15:30Al Almerat, MuscatRound 1
1021-OctOman vs Scotland19:30Al Almerat, MuscatRound 1
1122-OctNamibia vs Ireland15:30Abu DhabiRound 1
1222-OctSri Lanka vs the Netherlands19:30Abu DhabiRound 1
1323-OctAustralia vs South Africa15:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
1423-OctEngland vs West Indies19:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
1524-OctA1 vs B215:30SharjahSuper 12
1624-OctIndia vs Pakistan19:30DubaiSuper 12
1725-OctAfghanistan vs B119:30SharjahSuper 12
1826-OctSouth Africa vs West Indies15:30DubaiSuper 12
1926-OctPakistan vs New Zealand19:30SharjahSuper 12
2027-OctEngland vs B215:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
2127-OctB1 vs A219:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
2228-OctAustralia vs A119:30DubaiSuper 12
2329-OctWest Indies vs B215:30SharjahSuper 12
2429-OctAfghanistan vs Pakistan19:30DubaiSuper 12
2530-OctSouth Africa vs A115:30SharjahSuper 12
2630-OctEngland vs Australia19:30DubaiSuper 12
2731-OctAfghanistan vs A215:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
2831-OctIndia vs New Zealand19:30DubaiSuper 12
291-NovEngland vs A119:30SharjahSuper 12
302-NovSouth Africa vs B215:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
312-NovPakistan vs A219:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
323-NovNew Zealand vs B115:30DubaiSuper 12
333-NovIndia vs Afghanistan19:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
344-NovAustralia vs B215:30DubaiSuper 12
354-NovWest Indies vs A119:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
365-NovNew Zealand vs A215:30SharjahSuper 12
375-NovIndia vs B119:30DubaiSuper 12
386-NovAustralia vs West Indies15:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
396-NovEngland vs South Africa19:30SharjahSuper 12
407-NovNew Zealand vs Afghanistan15:30Abu DhabiSuper 12
417-NovPakistan vs B119:30SharjahSuper 12
428-NovIndia vs A219:30DubaiSuper 12
4310-NovSemi-Final 119:30Abu DhabiPlayoff
4411-NovSemi-Final 219:30DubaiPlayoff

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

More in Cricket