Connect with us


Tour de France Winners List: Who has won the most Tour de France titles?

Tour de France Winners List: Who has won the most Tour de France titles?

Tour de France is an annual road bicycle race held for 23 days in Europe. It is the most prestigious sport also comes under the seven biggest sporting events in the world. Tour de France covers a distance of 3500 Kilometers which is 2200 miles approx. the race starts in France and covers the neighboring countries making a tour, which always ends in Paris. Check Tour de France Winners List: Who has won the most Tour de France titles?.

The cyclists are recognized under different categories, polka dot jersey determines the leader of mountains classification while the yellow jersey determines the leader of lowest aggregate and green as the leader of the points classification. The white jersey is worn by the leader of the young racer classification.

Tour de France Winners List: Who has won the most Tour de France titles?

Who has won the most Tour de France titles?

Jacques Anquetil was a French road bicyclist and the first cyclist to win the Tour de France five times, in 1957 and from 1961 to 1964. He won eight Grand Tours in his career, which was a record. Along with him, Eddy Merckx of Belgium, Bernard Hinault of France, Miguel Induráin of Spain, won the titles five times.

Henri Cornet is the youngest winner; he won in 1904. Firmin Lambot is the oldest winner, won in 1922. The most recent winner is Slovenian Tadej Pogačar, who won the 2020 Tour.

Tour de France Winners List

Here is a complete list of winners of Tour de France of past 40 years,

YearTour WinnerCountry
2020107Tadej PogačarSlovenia
2019106Egan BernalColombia
2018105Geraint ThomasUnited Kingdom (Wales)
2017104Chris FroomeUnited Kingdom
2016103Chris FroomeUnited Kingdom
2015102Chris FroomeUnited Kingdom
2014101Vincenzo NibaliItaly
2013100Chris FroomeUnited Kingdom
201299Bradley WigginsUnited Kingdom
201198Cadel EvansAustralia
201097Andy Schleck *Luxembourg
200996Alberto ContadorSpain
200895Carlos SastreSpain
200794Alberto ContadorSpain
200693Óscar Pereiro *Spain
200491 *No Winner
200390 *No Winner
200289 *No Winner
200188 *No Winner
200087 *No Winner
199986 *No Winner
199885Marco PantaniItaly
199784Jan UllrichGermany
199683Bjarne Riis *Denmark
199582Miguel InduráinSpain
199481Miguel InduráinSpain
199380Miguel InduráinSpain
199279Miguel InduráinSpain
199178Miguel InduráinSpain
199077Greg LeMondUnited States
198976Greg LeMondUnited States
198875Pedro DelgadoSpain
198774Stephen RocheIreland
198673Greg LeMondUnited States
198572Bernard HinaultFrance
198471Laurent FignonFrance
198370Laurent FignonFrance
198269Bernard HinaultFrance
198168Bernard HinaultFrance
198067Joop ZoetemelkNetherlands

List of Cyclists winning the Most Titles

Check out the most titles won by players list of Tour de France,

 Jacques Anquetil (FRA)51957, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964
 Eddy Merckx (BEL)51969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1974
 Bernard Hinault (FRA)51978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985
 Miguel Indurain (ESP)51991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995
 Chris Froome (GBR)42013, 2015, 2016, 2017
 Philippe Thys (BEL)31913, 1914, 1920
 Louison Bobet (FRA)31953, 1954, 1955
 Greg LeMond (USA)31986, 1989, 1990
 Lucien Petit-Breton (FRA)21907, 1908
 Firmin Lambot (BEL)21919, 1922
 Ottavio Bottecchia (ITA)21924, 1925
 Nicolas Frantz (LUX)21927, 1928
 André Leducq (FRA)21930, 1932
 Antonin Magne (FRA)21931, 1934
 Sylvère Maes (BEL)21936, 1939
 Gino Bartali (ITA)21938, 1948
 Fausto Coppi (ITA)21949, 1952
 Bernard Thévenet (FRA)21975, 1977
 Laurent Fignon (FRA)21983, 1984
 Alberto Contador (ESP)[D]22007, 2009

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports