Connect with us


US Open Tennis Winners Name List (Male And Female)

US Open Tennis Winners Name List (Male And Female)

US Open is America’s biggest Tennis tournament played by Men and Women. It is chronologically the fourth grand slams that happen each year. US Open is held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center, New York City, United States. It is played outdoor on a hard court. Check US Open Tennis Winners Name List.

The USTA is the national body that organizes this event. It is a non-profit organization. US Open comprises of five categories Men and Women Singles, Men and Women Doubles, and Mixed doubles match. The US Open is a 2-week tournament. Generally takes place at the end of August and end by mid-September. Take a look at the winners of the US Open Tennis Men and Women.

US Open Tennis Winners Name List (Male And Female)

US Open Men singles

The men singles had seen a lot of changes after the establishment of the US Open in 1881. Initially, during the US National Championships, Richard Sears (1881–1887), William Larned (1901–1902, 1907–1911), and Bill Tilden (1920–1925, 1929) hold the record for most titles in the men’s singles, with seven victories each.

Later on during the US Open, when the professional Tennis players were included, Jimmy Connors (1974, 1976, 1978, 1982–1983), Pete Sampras (1990, 1993, 1995–1996, 2002), and Roger Federer (2004–2008) have won the most championships, with five titles. 

US Open Women Singles

Women singles had also undergone several changes since 1888. The event started off with a knockout stage. At the All commoners stage, the winner had to face the defending champion in the challenging round. Under the challenge round format, Elisabeth Moore holds the record for most singles titles with 4. Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman holds the record for most consecutive titles at three (1909-1911).

During US Open, where professional tennis players were included,  Chris Evert (1975–1978) holds the record for most consecutive women’s singles titles at four. The record for most overall titles at six, under Women’s Singles, is Serena Williams (1999, 2002, 2008, 2012–2014).

US Open Tennis Winners Men Singles (1968-2020)

Check out the entire list of winners and runner’s up from the period 1968-2020 of Men’s Singles tennis US open,

1968  USAArthur Ashe  NetherlandsTom Okker
1969  AustraliaRod Laver  AustraliaTony Roche
1970  AustraliaKen Rosewall  AustraliaTony Roche
1971  USAStan Smith  CzechoslovakiaJan Kodeš
1972  RomaniaIlie Năstase  USAArthur Ashe
1973  AustraliaJohn Newcombe  CzechoslovakiaJan Kodeš
1974  USAJimmy Connors  AustraliaKen Rosewall
1975  SpainManuel Orantes  USAJimmy Connors
1976 USAJimmy Connors  SwedenBjörn Borg
1977  ArgentinaGuillermo Vilas  USAJimmy Connors
1978  USAJimmy Connors  SwedenBjörn Borg
1979  USAJohn McEnroe  USAVitas Gerulaitis
1980  USAJohn McEnroe  SwedenBjörn Borg
1981  USAJohn McEnroe  SwedenBjörn Borg
1982  USAJimmy Connors  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl
1983  USAJimmy Connors  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl
1984  USAJohn McEnroe  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl
1985  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl  USAJohn McEnroe
1986  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl  CzechoslovakiaMiloslav Mečíř
1987  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl  SwedenMats Wilander
1988  SwedenMats Wilander  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl
1989  GermanyBoris Becker  CzechoslovakiaIvan Lendl
1990  USAPete Sampras  USAAndre Agassi
1991  SwedenStefan Edberg  USAJim Courier
1992  SwedenStefan Edberg  USAPete Sampras
1993  USAPete Sampras  FranceCédric Pioline
1994 USAAndre Agassi  GermanyMichael Stich
1995  USAPete Sampras  USAAndre Agassi
1996 USAPete Sampras  USAMichael Chang
1997  AustraliaPatrick Rafter  UKGreg Rusedski
1998  AustraliaPatrick Rafter  AustraliaMark Philippoussis
1999  USAAndre Agassi  USATodd Martin
2000  RussiaMarat Safin  USAPete Sampras
2001  AustraliaLleyton Hewitt  USAPete Sampras
2002  USAPete Sampras  USAAndre Agassi
2003  USAAndy Roddick  SpainJuan Carlos Ferrero
2004   SwitzerlandRoger Federer AustraliaLleyton Hewitt
2005   SwitzerlandRoger Federer  USAAndre Agassi
2006   SwitzerlandRoger Federer  USAAndy Roddick
2007   SwitzerlandRoger Federer  SerbiaNovak Djokovic
2008   SwitzerlandRoger Federer  UKAndy Murray
2009  ArgentinaJuan Martín del Potro   SwitzerlandRoger Federer
2010  SpainRafael Nadal  SerbiaNovak Djokovic
2011  SRBNovak Djokovic  SpainRafael Nadal
2012  UKAndy Murray  SerbiaNovak Djokovic
2013  SpainRafael Nadal  SerbiaNovak Djokovic
2014  Croatia Marin ČilićJPNKei Nishikori
2015  SerbiaNovak Djokovic  SwitzerlandRoger Federer
2016   SwitzerlandStan Wawrinka  SerbiaNovak Djokovic
2017  SpainRafael Nadal  RSAKevin Anderson
2018  SerbiaNovak Djokovic  ArgentinaJuan Martín del Potro
2019  SpainRafael Nadal  RussiaDaniil Medvedev
2020  AustriaDominic Thiem  GermanyAlexander Zverev

US Open Tennis Winners Women Singles (1968-2020)

Check out the list of winners Women’s Singles and the runner’s Up for the period 1968-2020,

1968 UKVirginia Wade USABillie Jean King
1969 AustraliaMargaret Court (3)  USANancy Richey
1970  AustraliaMargaret Court (4)  USARosemary Casals
1971  USABillie Jean King (2)  USARosemary Casals
1972  USABillie Jean King (3)  AustraliaKerry Melville
1973  AustraliaMargaret Court (5)  AustraliaEvonne Goolagong
1974  USABillie Jean King (4)  AustraliaEvonne Goolagong
1975  USAChris Evert  AustraliaEvonne Goolagong
1976  USAChris Evert (2)  AustraliaEvonne Goolagong Cawley
1977  USAChris Evert (3)  AustraliaWendy Turnbull
1978  USAChris Evert (4)  USAPam Shriver
1979  USATracy Austin   USAChris Evert
1980  USAChris Evert (5) CzechoslovakiaHana Mandlíková
1981  USATracy Austin (2)  USAMartina Navratilova[
1982  USAChris Evert (6) CzechoslovakiaHana Mandlíková
1983  USAMartina Navratilova  USAChris Evert
1984  USAMartina Navratilova (2)  USAChris Evert
1985 CzechoslovakiaHana Mandlíková  USAMartina Navratilova
1986  USAMartina Navratilova (3)  CzechoslovakiaHelena Suková
1987  USAMartina Navratilova (4)  GermanySteffi Graf
1988  GermanySteffi Graf  ArgentinaGabriela Sabatini
1989  GermanySteffi Graf (2)  USAMartina Navratilova
1990  ArgentinaGabriela Sabatini  GermanySteffi Graf
1991  YugoslaviaMonica Seles  USAMartina Navratilova
1992  YugoslaviaMonica Seles (2)  ESPArantxa Sánchez Vicario
1993  GermanySteffi Graf (3)  Czech RepublicHelena Suková
1994  ESPArantxa Sánchez Vicario  GermanySteffi Graf
1995  GermanySteffi Graf (4)  USAMonica Seles
1996  GermanySteffi Graf (5)  USAMonica Seles
1997   SwitzerlandMartina Hingis  USAVenus Williams
1998  USALindsay Davenport   SwitzerlandMartina Hingis
1999  USASerena Williams   SwitzerlandMartina Hingis
2000 USAVenus Williams USALindsay Davenport
2001  USAVenus Williams (2) USASerena Williams
2002  USASerena Williams (2)  USAVenus Williams
2003  BelgiumJustine Henin  BelgiumKim Clijsters
2004  RussiaSvetlana Kuznetsova  RussiaElena Dementieva
2005  BelgiumKim Clijsters  FRAMary Pierce
2006  RussiaMaria Sharapova  BelgiumJustine Henin
2007  BelgiumJustine Henin (2)  RussiaSvetlana Kuznetsova
2008  USASerena Williams (3)  SRBJelena Janković
2009  BelgiumKim Clijsters (2)  DenmarkCaroline Wozniacki
2010  BelgiumKim Clijsters (3)  RussiaVera Zvonareva
2011  AustraliaSamantha Stosur  USASerena Williams
2012  USASerena Williams (4)  BelarusVictoria Azarenka
2013  USASerena Williams (5)  BelarusVictoria Azarenka
2014  USASerena Williams (6)  DenmarkCaroline Wozniacki
2015  ItalyFlavia Pennetta  ItalyRoberta Vinci
2016  GermanyAngelique Kerber  Czech RepublicKarolína Plíšková
2017  USASloane Stephens  USAMadison Keys
2018  JapanNaomi Osaka  USASerena Williams
2019  CanadaBianca Andreescu  USASerena Williams
2020  JapanNaomi Osaka (2)  BelarusVictoria Azarenka

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tennis